Facebook Twitter

Morongo Vice Chair Andreas Honored at TASIN 20th Anniversary Gala

Celebration of two decades of progress by the Tribal Alliance of Sovereign Indian Nations included recognition for the commitment and accomplishments of seven California tribal leaders.

MORONGO INDIAN RESERVATION-- Morongo Tribal Council Vice Chair Mary Ann Andreas, a longtime advocate for tribal self-reliance and a stalwart defender of Indian Country, was among seven California tribal leaders who were honored Saturday, Jan. 30, at a gala recognizing the 20th Anniversary of the Tribal Alliance of Sovereign Indian Nations (TASIN).

Mary Ann’s commitment to Indian Country is exemplified by her personal motto, ‘There is always more to do – each day offers more opportunities to serve,’” said Lynn Valbuena, chairwoman of TASIN and chairwoman of the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians. “Mary Ann continues to seek out new opportunities to secure a better future for her tribe and for all of Indian Country.”

Andreas said she was deeply honored to be among the tribal leaders recognized at the milestone of TASIN’s 20th anniversary celebration.

“For the past two decades, TASIN has protected and advanced the rights of tribal nations, and promoted self-reliance to improve the lives of Native Americans across California. We’ve made great strides, but there is still a great deal of work to do. I’m confident that together, we will continue to make advances in child welfare, housing, healthcare, education and environmental protection,” Andreas said.

Each honoree was commended for his or her tireless work to protect and promote the sovereign rights, cultural identity and interests of federally recognized tribes.

Other past and current tribal leaders honored at Saturday’s gala held at the San Manuel Village Events Center included Mark Macarro of the Pechanga Band of Luiseño Indians; Marshall McKay of Yocha Dehe Wintun Nation; Anthony Pico of the Viejas Band of Kumeyaay Indians; Ken Ramirez of the San Manuel Band of Mission Indians and  Danny Tucker of the Sycuan Band of the Kumeyaay Nation and the chairman of the California Nations Indian Gaming Association (CNIGA). The late Chairman Richard Milanovich, Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians was honored posthumously for his contributions.  Former Gaming Commissioner for Augustine Band of Cahuilla Indians and their former TASIN delegate, Michael Lombardi, was also recognized.

TASIN is an intergovernmental association of federally recognized tribal governments throughout Southern California. Its mission is to protect and promote the tribal sovereign government rights, the cultural identity and interests of federally recognized tribes within the State of California. 

Andreas has served more than 30 years on the Morongo Tribal Council, including several terms as the Chair and Vice 

Chair. She helped lead the efforts to secure the rights of all tribal governments to offer gaming on their lands, culminating in a landmark 1987 U.S. Supreme Court victory. Her history of leadership includes service on the All Mission Indian Housing Authority, the Riverside Democratic Central Committee, and the Native American Caucus of the California Democratic Party. 


For Immediate Release

CONTACT:  Michael Fisher 909-234-3593